Love Actually is All Around

I am unbelievably excited for Christmas. I can’t even begin to tell you. I’m certain I’m driving people at work nuts with it, mostly because I’m unbelievably prepared this year. All of the gifts are bought, there are just a few left to be wrapped and all of my Christmas Cards are written and ready to be posted. My manager was kind enough to bring some stuff over to Toronto with her when she went for a business meeting this week, and the rest I sent home with my family last weekend (along with a bag of clothes – idea a la auntie Helen) so that when I go up north at Christmas, all I need to bring with me is my handbag. I am prepared, folks, for all things! So when Alex suggested we go to town this evening and watch them turn on the Christmas lights, I thought OOOH YAY CHRISTMAS THING.

The place was packed, and on the second floor of the shopping centre, there was a huge Christmas tree that would light up at the end of a ten second countdown. The energy was amazing. I don’t usually like crowds of people, never mind when most of them are under the age of seven (sorry, kids. Just not my scene) but everyone was just so happy. The kids were smiling and dancing along with the band that was playing, the parents were happy watching them, and when the countdown started, the whole place boomed. Five, four, three, two, ONE! All the lights on all the trees in the mall lit up, the music started, confetti fired from the ceiling, and it was absolutely beautiful. Of course, I only got to enjoy it for a brief moment with a huge smile on my face before I burst into tears. Because this is all I could hear over the roar of the crowd:

“Whenever I get gloomy with the state of the world, I think about the arrivals gate at Heathrow Airport. General opinion’s starting to make out that we live in a world of hatred and greed, but I don’t see that. It seems to me that love is everywhere. Often it’s not particularly dignified or newsworthy, but it’s always there –fathers and sons, mothers and daughters, husbands and wives, boyfriends, girlfriends, old friends. When the planes hit the Twin Towers, as far as I know none of the phone calls from the people on board were messages of hate or revenge – they were messages of love. If you look for it, I’ve got a sneaky feeling you’ll find that love actually is all around.”

It took me a good ten minutes to get my poop in a group, and thank god for good friends because Alex gave me a cuddle, called me an asshole (or, aaarsehole) and it brought me ‘round. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still excited for Christmas, and I can’t wait to spend it with my family, but it was just a gentle reminder that I definitely will NOT be watching Love Actually this year.

Do any of you have Holiday traditions that you’d be happy to share? Any Holiday, I’d love to hear all about it!

Love yourselves, darlings.

xo Em

⇒ please note that while I would love to claim responsibility for the badassery of the feature image used in this post, I regret to inform you that it was not taken and is not owned by me. click here for original image. ⇐

 

Leave a Reply

