Life

Well hello there you sexy things, you! It’s been a while, I hope you’ve all been misbehaving. xo

What can I say? Life is absolutely amazing. Of course there have been a few trial and error days. I boasted about a pair of pineapple shoes on Facebook the first time I wore them and they fell apart half an hour later. (Yes, I walked home in a pair of shoes that only had one sole. Yes, I wore them after. Yes, I’m still wearing them, even though the other sole is gone now and the edges are tearing away from the shoe. I WILL NOT SURRENDER.) There was the time I tried to bake and failed miserably because trying to convert measurements is like trying to herd cats. There was the Thanksgiving I threw, with the almost-raw turkey. (I say almost because I caught on in time. Of course, it was as dry as Frankie Boyle’s sense of humour, but hey, that’s what gravy’s for!) But all in all? Guys, I’m telling you, this is the life.

I’ve been fortunate enough to make some really good friends in the time that I’ve been here, and I can safely say that it feels like I’ve been around much longer than almost four months. I’m so grateful to these amazing people for making this transition here so fluid and easy. Just for the record, everyone needs to have a friend to celebrate posh Monday with, because regular Mondays are shit no matter where you are in the world. Do whatever you like on posh Monday, just make sure it’s something that makes you happy with someone that makes you laugh. It’s one of my most favourite days of the week now!

I got mixed reviews when I first started on this venture: some people said the first few months were going to be the best, other said the first few months were going to be the worst. Honestly, I’ve never been so zen in my whole life so if I am distressed, I have no idea! Here’s what I’ve put together:

I’m taking each and every day as it comes. Even if the sun is shining and the birds are singing, if you wake up in the morning expecting to feel devastated, that’s exactly what’s going to happen. Of course I’ve had a few tough days. I had to sit out of both of my parent’s birthday’s this year (a big one for my mum, though I won’t say it out loud because she’ll write me out of the will) and that was tough. I even had a little boo-hoo. But that was it, just a little one. Aside from that, it’s been very smooth sailing.

I’ve traveled more by train in the last four months than I have in the last 26 years, and I absolutely love it. It’s pretty well stress-free, the view is amazing and there’s no stop-and go traffic. I’ve learned that the M25 here is basically the equivalent of the 400 in Ontario on a long weekend. But, like, all the time. So I get to kick back, relax, put my headphones in and enjoy the ride when I travel up to see my family and it’s absolutely delicious. However, I got a glimpse into what so many Brits complain about last month when I went to visit. I got on the 6:30 train north, final stop being Edinburgh, and oh. My. God. The chaos. I was clever enough to have booked a seat when I booked my ticket and THANK THE LORD FOR THAT. Guys. There were people. Everywhere. Sitting in seats. Sitting on arm rests, perched on tables, sitting in the aisles, standing in the aisles, sitting by the doors, standing by the doors. Parents sat their kids in the luggage hold so they didn’t get trampled. One guy even took perch on the toilet until someone needed to use it. (Brave soul. I don’t pee on things that move so I didn’t witness it first hand, but the train grapevine had a good giggle about it.) At one point, the conductor on the PA reminded everyone to keep aisles and walkways clear for emergency purposes and literally everyone in the train car burst into laughter because, well, reasons. The crowd hadn’t even thinned out that much by the time we got to Doncaster, and even the trip from Doncaster to Scunthorpe was a treat! There was a Scottish lady (…I use the term ‘lady’ liberally, here) on the train shouting down the phone to whoever it was that was supposed to pick her up and in the mix of Scottish things that I couldn’t understand, what I could make out was “AM NO WALKIN’ THRU SCUNTHORPE HIGH STREET ON MA OWN SON, I’D RATHER WALK BACK TO FUCKIN’ EDINBURGH, DO YA HEAR ME?” It took everything in me not to laugh, mostly because she looked like she could probably kill me. I gave her a spare lighter when we got off the train though, so we’re tight now.

More exciting news – I’m going to be a Godmother! My best friend and her husband are expecting their little bundle in early April, so when I go back to Canada in August it will all be official. I’m so excited that, even from so far away, I get to be a part of this baby’s life. Do any long-distance Godparents out there have any advice? I’d love to hear it, because I’m bricking it a little bit!

Tell me what’s going on with you, lovely’s. I will be back soon with another post, I promise I won’t leave it so long next time.

Until then, I love you all, darlings!

xo Em

⇒ please note that while I would love to claim responsibility for the badassery of the feature image used in this post, I regret to inform you that it was not taken and is not owned by me. click here for original image. ⇐

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Life

Leave a Reply

