Week 2

Week two seems to have gone by in a flash!

I started up at work again on Monday, and my god did the time fly. I’ve been training, project doing and covering desks left right and centre and I have to say that I’m working with a really great group of people. I feel like I’ve spent the majority of my career there already, aside from the things that I still have to learn. The only frustrating part of this week is exactly that – I’m so used to knowing what I’m doing, of being the person that trains the people in my roll that it’s strange for me to not know, to have to be the one asking questions. The sooner I can get up and running the better, because I’m afraid that, with regards to the workload, I feel a bit like a fish out of water. But I will not despair! I’ll get there soon.

So I’ve got a bit of a routine for myself now. Every morning I get up, get ready and catch the early bus into town so I can get myself a coffee and watch the world go by for a little bit before I finish my walk to work. I kinda like my view.

Screen shot 2016-08-13 at 5.01.23 AM.png

I don’t mind waking up early if this is where I get to spend my mornings. #nofilter

When I started on Monday, my manager told me about this little park beside of the office that no one uses that’s home to a Koi pond and a really beautiful garden. She also told me that no one ever really uses it. So, naturally, I had to explore. I have dubbed it my little lunchtime hideaway – these people really don’t know what they’re missing out on!

Screen shot 2016-08-13 at 5.06.42 AM.png

Need I say more? #nofilter

It’s so quiet and serene in this place. All you can hear is the sound of the wind in the trees and the fish in the pond despite the main road being just a stairwell away.

Screen shot 2016-08-13 at 5.12.27 AM.png

So to put it plainly, without getting mushy, my soul is happy here.

And off to Maidstone this weekend! I’m really looking forward to it – I didn’t realize this until a few days ago but I’ve been before. When I was a kid, my parents sent me here for a month to stay with my family during the summer holidays and during that month, I spent some time in Kent. We took a tour of Leeds Castle during that trip and I think I may just do a re-take of that this weekend. I’ve been doing some research on the city and, like most places here, there is TONS of history in the place. I can’t wait to discover it for myself. Read all about it here on Monday. 🙂

Love yourselves, darlings.

Em xo

⇒ please note that while I would love to claim responsibility for the badassery of the feature image used in this post, I regret to inform you that it was not taken and is not owned by me. click here for original image. ⇐

 

Leave a Reply

