Week 1

So today marks it – it’s officially been one week since I left home and so far things are going better than I could have asked for. The sun is shining today, I’ve got my laundry out on the line and after this weekend, it’s back to the 9-5. I’ve enjoyed my time off but I am looking forward to getting back to work and having a regular routine.

I was fortunate enough to be able to go out for dinner with everyone I’ll be working with last night. Of course, everyone was delightful and it definitely alleviated the pressure of walking in on Monday and being the brand new face in a company I’ve been working for for the better part of a decade. (I can’t tell you how strange that feeling is for me.) I’m so grateful to have had that opportunity – it was a really nice night with my new colleagues. I already feel very welcomed.

So to sum up my first week away from home? It’s been strange, but it’s been great. No regrets, no looking back. The people have been wonderful, only one person has asked me if I’m from the States (Alabama, to be exact) and I found a better Chai Tea Latte then Starbucks. (YOU ARE JUST AS SHOCKED AS I AM. Thank YOU, Cafe Nero.)

I am exactly where I need to be right now. And I am so, so grateful.

Love yourselves, darlings.

Em xo

⇒ please note that while I would love to claim responsibility for the badassery of the feature image used in this post, I regret to inform you that it was not taken and is not owned by me. click here for original image. ⇐

Leave a Reply

