The Proverbial Wrench

And everything was going so well!

Not that this a very large wrench by any means, but it has put a kink in the flawless process so far. Don’t let anyone tell you this moving international thing is easy – even me! So today I managed to open up my bank account (yipee for small wins!) and discovered that here, with the bank I’ve signed up with, you don’t get your actual card for a week. Whomp whomp. Oh well, no big deal, right? Except totally a big deal. I now need to wait to get a phone because they need the card. The whole plan was to get account, get card, get phone, call about national insurance number. As the mid-section of my beautiful plan was crushed to smithereens, I thought okay, I’ll accept the long distance charge on my own phone. (It’s going to be a doozy of a bill anyway. Thank god I have a spare kidney to sell.) So I called about my National Insurance Number, and as it turns out I have to travel an hour outside of town to do an interview for it as I hold dual citizenship.

ARGHHH.

Oh well, such is life. So I, ever the opportunist, have booked myself a weekend in Maidstone. Does anyone have any suggestions? Is there anything I need to see? Fill me in! I’ll have Saturday afternoon and Sunday during the day to do some exploring.

Love yourselves, darlings.

Em xo

⇒ please note that while I would love to claim responsibility for the badassery of the feature image used in this post, I regret to inform you that all I did was take a screen shot from google maps. ⇐

 

Leave a Reply

